Love Child

Nine Network Australia

Love Child – Series 1

Love Child is a character drama set in 1969 in Kings Cross; the time and place Australia came of age and the new generation broke all the rules.

We follow Joan Millar (Jessica Marais), 28, a maverick midwife returning to Australia and Viv (Sophie Hensser), Martha (Miranda Tapsell), Patricia (Harriet Dyer), Annie (Gracie Gilbert) and Shirley (Ella Scott Lynch), five young pregnant women, whose choices for their babies and own lives exemplify the radical changes at the heart of the cultural and sexual revolution. Their lives intersect between a maternity hospital, a home for unwed mothers and the wild streets of Darlinghurst.

LOVE CHILD is a joyful and powerful drama series about a group of young people who rocked the boat.

Love Child - Series 2

Dr Joan Millar (Jessica Marais) is asserting her new position as Junior Resident in the hospital with the staff, patients and fellow doctors alike when an unexpected return is made by Dr Patrick McNaughton (Jonathan LaPaglia). The girls of Stanton House are on the cusp of freedom from Matron (Mandy McElhinney), enjoying the life and bright lights of Kings Cross. Season 2 see each character’s path to freedom face trials and tribulations, but it is the birth of one baby in particular that changes the lives of many.

Love Child - Series 3

In an era of great change, season three brings new love, lust, births, deaths and marriages to 1970s Kings Cross. The Vietnam War is dividing the world, music and the media are shifting old ideals, and the lines between friendship, love and marriage are blurring.

Love Child - Series 4

Life has moved on for those whose lives revolve around the world of Stanton House, it’s now 1972, the year of Gough Whitlam, the grooves of funk music, free education and immigration. Times are changing, and so are our girls.